F4E is the ‘European Joint Undertaking for ITER and the Development of Fusion Energy’. It is the EU domestic agency responsible for providing Europe’s contribution for the implementation of ITER (International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor). This international project aims to demonstrate that fusion may be a viable and sustainable source of energy for human consumption. ITER initiative is the world’s largest scientific partnership which brings together seven parties: the EU, Russia, Japan, China, India, South Korea and the United States.

F4E also supports fusion research and development initiatives through the Broader Approach Agreement (signed with Japan) which aims to complement the ITER Project, and the development of advanced technologies for the construction of demonstration fusion reactors (DEMO).

The F4E Joint Undertaking was created under the Euratom Treaty by a decision of the Council of the European Union. It was established for a period of 35 years (from 19 April 2007) and it is located in Barcelona, Spain.