The European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) has announced this year’s winners of the prestigious EIT Awards in a festive ceremony in Budapest. The top prizes for innovations in the fields of climate, energy and health went to: Michael Dittel, LeafTech (Germany), Marc Julien, Diabeloop (France), Matthew Dickson, CorPower Ocean (Sweden/United Kingdom), Sara Guimarães Gonçalves, Trigger.Systems (Portugal), and David Pistoni Perez, Zeleros (Spain).

"It has been impressive to watch the talented innovators pitch here in Budapest and discover their ground-breaking innovations made in Europe. Impressively, ventures supported by the EIT Community have already raised EUR 1.5 billion in external investment. Powering entrepreneurs to turn their best ideas into solutions for a greener, healthier and more sustainable planet is at the heart of the EIT, Europe’s most experienced innovation engine", said Dirk Jan van den Berg, Chair of the EIT Governing Board

Read the full news and learn more about this year's laureates here.